Account Security

Skip to a section

UberConference is one of the most secure conferencing services in the industry. Let's take a closer look at the steps we take to secure your conferences.

Back End

On the back end, everything we do is encrypted with DTLS (signaling) and SRTP (media). We use HTTPs on the web side for chat and contacts, and our entire site runs over SSL.

During conferences, this will apply if the users are connected via their computers. Because we have no control over PSTN calls e.g. by dialing in with your phone (in or out), these calls will not be encrypted.

For maximum security, we recommend that you and your Participants only connect to conferences through their computers. Identify how participants are dialed in by looking for a computer or mobile phone icon adjacent to their name on their participant card within the conference page.

Data Storage

We store all of our data in the Google Cloud Platform which is ISO 27001 certified and audited every year for the SOC2 Type II and SSAE 16.

In Conference Security

Hang Up

Need to kick out a Participant who's connected their audio? Hover over their Participant card to display the Hang Up option.

Evict Viewers

Evict Participants who haven't connected their audio by clicking on the Avatar icon in your sidebar. Hovering over their name will display the Remove option.

Lock Your Conference

Once all your invited Participants have joined, you can Lock your conference to prevent anyone else from joining. The lock option is available at the bottom of your conference screen on the web or mobile app, or you can press ## via your phone.

Additional Options

Joining

Restrict Participants from starting the conference until the Organizer joins. You can find this setting under Settings>Conference Settings>Joining for your individual account or under Team>Team Settings>Joining if you're a Team Admin.

Require a PIN

For Business accounts, you can opt to require a PIN to join your conferences. You'll find this setting under Settings>Conference Settings>Additional Security for your individual account or under Team>Team Settings>Require PIN if you're a Team Admin.

Change your PIN

If you already require a PIN, you can always change it at any time. Just navigate to Settings>Conference Settings>Participant PIN>Change.

Doc Sharing

When sharing a file through Google Docs, Evernote, Box or Dropbox, UberConference changes the permissions of the document so that individuals with the link can view the document.

The document is then displayed within the conference view via services provided from the respective companies. When choosing a file from your computer, UberConference leverages the Box View API which allows UberConference to render the file within the conference view.

All of your notes and files are saved on Google Docs, Evernote, Box or Dropbox. No copies are saved on UberConference's side.

If you don’t want an item shared after the call, you can change the permissions back in your Google Drive, Evernote or Box account.

Screen Sharing

UberConference screen share is encrypted both in transit and at rest from the time you start the screen share until it ends. None of the information you share is accessible to anyone other than those viewing it through your conference URL.

Don't forget, if a Participant is viewing your conference that shouldn't be, you always have the option to evict them from your conference. 

After your screen share ends, the information is no longer available to your Participants nor is it stored by or accessible to UberConference.