UberConference is one of the most secure conferencing services available. Let's take a closer look at how we secure your conferences.
On the back-end, everything we do is encrypted with DTLS (signaling) and SRTP (media). We use HTTPs on the website for chat and contacts, and our entire site runs over SSL.
During conferences, this will apply if the users are connected via their computers. Because we have no control over PSTN calls (by dialing in or out with your phone), these calls will not be encrypted.
For maximum security, we recommend that you and your Participants only connect to conferences through computers. Identify how Participants are dialed in by looking for a computer or phone icon adjacent to their name on their Participants card within the conference.
Dialpad and UberConference are HIPAA compliant after signing a Business Associate Agreement (BAA). If you're interested in seeking a BAA, you can contact email@example.com. For additional details on how Dialpad and UberConference satisfy the Privacy and Security Rule Requirements, see the Dialpad HIPAA datasheet.
Need to kick out a Participant who's connected their audio or just viewing? Hover over their Participant card to display the Remove icon.
Lock Your Conference
Once all your invited Participants have joined, you can Lock your conference to prevent anyone else from joining.
The lock option is available at the bottom of your conference screen on the web or mobile app, or you can press ## via your phone.
Here’s what a participant will see when they try and join a locked conference:
Restrict participants from starting the conference until the organizer joins.
You'll find this setting under Settings > Allow conferences to start without me for your individual account or under Team > Team Settings > Require the organizer to be present to start a call if you're an admin for a team.
Require a PIN
Require a PIN for participants to join the conference if you have an UberConference Business license.
You'll find this setting under Settings > Require a PIN to join for your individual account or under Team > Team Settings > Require conference PIN numbers if you're an admin for a team.
UberConference screen share is encrypted both in transit and at rest from the time you start the screen share until it ends. None of the information you share is accessible to anyone other than those viewing it through your conference URL.
Don't forget that if a participant is viewing your conference who shouldn't be, you always have the option to evict them from your conference.
After your screen share ends, the information is no longer available to your Participants nor is it stored by or accessible to UberConference.